Year 2012

Operating Results

In 2012, the core business operations of the Group was the production, distribution and sale of Kingway beer.  

The consolidated revenue of the Group for the year amounted to HK$1,549 million (2011: HK$1,758 million), representing a decrease of 11.9% over that of 2011. The Group’s average selling price per tonne of beer increased by 2.4% over that of 2011. The Group’s sales in Mainland China accounted for 94.9% of its consolidated revenue, representing a decrease of 12.2% over that of 2011 in terms of revenue, whereas the Group’s sales in overseas and Hong Kong markets accounted for 5.1% of its consolidated revenue, representing a decrease of 6.0% over that of 2011 in terms of revenue. The Group’s consolidated loss after tax for the year was HK$168 million (2011: profit HK$34.77 million), of which HK$31.63 million were expenses incurred in relation to the strategic review conducted during the year.  

The Group’s average costs per tonne of beer for the year increased by 11.7% over that of 2011, which was primarily attributable to the increase in procurement costs of various raw materials and packaging materials and the decrease in sales volume which led to an increase in the fixed costs per tonne of beer. Since the increase in the average selling price per tonne of beer could not offset the increase in the average costs per tonne of beer, the Group’s gross profit margin decreased from 17.9% in 2011 to 10.5% in 2012.

Operating Expenses and Finance Costs

The Group’s selling and distribution expenses for the year amounted to HK$187 million (2011: HK$230 million), representing a decrease of 18.7% over that of 2011. The Group’s average selling and distribution expenses per tonne of beer for the year was HK$232 (2011: HK$246), representing a decrease of 5.7% over that of 2011, which was primarily attributable to the Group’s efforts in controlling its selling and distribution expenses.

The Group’s administrative expenses for the year was HK$169 million (2011: HK$151 million), representing an increase of 11.9% over that of 2011, which was primarily attributable to the increase in salaries and various administration expenses.

The Group’s finance costs for the year was HK$0.40 million (2011: HK$1.01 million), representing a decrease of 60.4% over 2011. The decrease in finance costs was primarily attributable to a decrease in the amount of bank loans in 2012.

Taxation

During the year, some of the Group’s subsidiaries in Mainland China were still entitled to preferential tax treatment with full corporate income tax exemption for the first two profit-making years and a 50% relief in the following three years, but 2012 was the last year in which these subsidiaries were entitled to such preferential tax treatment.

Capital Expenditure

The Group’s capital expenditure, on a cash basis, for the year was approximately HK$58 million (2011:HK$67 million), representing a decrease of 13.4% over 2011. The capital expenditure during the year was mainly used to build staff quarters, payment of prepaid land lease and generally improve the Group’s production facilities.

Financial Resources and Liquidity

As at 31 December 2012, the Group’s net asset value was HK$2.95 billion (2011: HK$3.14 billion), representing a decrease of 6.1% over that of 2011. Based on the number of ordinary shares in issue as at 31 December 2012, the net asset value per share of the Group was HK$1.72 (2011: HK$1.83), a decrease of 6.0% from that of 2011.

As at 31 December 2012, the Group had cash and bank balances of HK$194 million (2011: HK$299 million), representing a decrease of 35.1% over that of last year. The Group’s cash and bank balances comprise HK$0.49 million (2011: HK$7.40 million) of pledged bank balances with restricted purposes and HK$6.91 million (2011: nil) of restricted bank balances. Of the Group’s cash and bank balances as at 31 December 2012, 88.2% was in RMB, 6.3% in HKD and 5.5% in USD. Net cash flows used in operating activities for the year were HK$23 million (2011: Net cash flows from operating activities HK$181 million). Most of the transactions from the Group’s daily operations were denominated in Renminbi and the Group did not perform currency hedge of the transactions actively.

As at the end of 2012, the Group did not have any outstanding bank loans. Given the Group’s existing cash balances and available standby credit facilities, the Group will have sufficient financial resources to finance its brewery operations.

Apart from the aforementioned pledged bank balances of HK$0.49 million, none of the assets of the Group was pledged to any creditors and there was no material contingent liability recorded as at the end of 2012.

Financial Impact from the Result of Strategic Review

In respect of the result of the strategic review as mentioned in the Chairman’s Statement, on 5 February 2013, the Company and China Resources Snow Breweries Limited(華潤雪花啤酒有限公司)entered into the Master Agreement, pursuant to which the Company has, subject to the satisfaction of the relevant conditions precedent, agreed to sell the equity interests in 9 wholly-owned subsidiaries and certain of their loans and debts owing to the remaining Group at a total consideration of RMB5,384.2 million (equivalent to approximately HK$6,643.0 million), subject to adjustments, if any. Subject to the completion of the Master Agreement and the related transactions, the Group’s core business will be changed from the production, distribution and sale of beer to property development and investment. Please refer to note 38 to the financial statements and the very substantial disposal announcement of the Company published on 5 February 2013 for details.

In 2012, total expenses incurred in relation to the strategic review of the Company amounted to approximately HK$31.63 million. These expenses were recognised in other expenses under the Consolidated Income Statement. As the Master Agreement was signed in 2013, the Master Agreement did not have any financial impact on the Company’s financial position in 2012, apart from the aforementioned expenses.

Human Resources

The Group had 2,835 (2011: 2,864) employees as at the end of 2012, with total remuneration and provident fund contributions for the year of HK$248 million (2011: HK$226 million). Various basic benefits were provided to the Group’s staff with an incentive policy which was designed to remunerate staff by reference to the Group’s sales volume and results as well as their individual performance.

2012年

经营情况

本集团于二零一二年度的主要经营业务仍然是生产、分销及销售金威啤酒。

本集团本年度的综合收入为15.49亿港元(二零一一年:17.58亿港元),较二零一一年度减少11.9%。本集团每平均吨酒售价较二零一一年同期上升2.4%。本集团于国内的营业额占其综合收入94.9%,以金额计算较二零一一年度减少12.2%;本集团于海外及香港的销售占其综合收入5.1%,以金额计算较二零一一年度减少6.0%。本集团于本年度录得综合税后亏损1.68亿港元(二零一一年:溢利3,477万港元),其中因本年度进行策略检讨产生的有关费用为3,163 万港元。

本集团本年度平均吨酒成本较二零一一年度增加11.7%。吨酒成本上升主要受原材料及包装材料等采购成本上涨及销售量下降导致吨酒固定成本增加所影响。由于吨酒的平均售价的升幅未能弥补平均成本的升幅,本集团的毛利率由二零一一年度的17.9%下降至二零一二年度的10.5%。

经营费用及融资成本

本集团本年度的销售及分销费用为1.87亿港元(二零一一年:2.30亿港元),较二零一一年度减少约18.7%,本年度平均每吨酒摊占的销售及分销费用232 港元(二零一一年:246 港元),较二零一一年度减少5.7%。销售及分销费用减少的主要原因是本集团合理地控制销售及分销费用。

本集团本年度管理费用为1.69亿港元(二零一一年:1.51亿港元),较二零一一年度增加11.9%,主要由于工资成本及各项行政费用增加所致。

本集团本年度融资成本为40万港元(二零一一年:101万港元),较二零一一年度减少60.4%,导致融资成本减少的主要原因是二零一二年内减少借入银行贷款金额。

税务

本年度本集团于国内的若干附属公司仍享有两免三减半的企业所得税优惠,惟二零一二年是该等附属公司享有企业所得税优惠期的最后一年。

资本性开支

本集团于本年内以现金支付为基准的资本性开支约为0.58亿港元(二零一一年:0.67 亿港元),较二零一一年同期减少13.4%。本年度资本性开支主要用于兴建员工宿舍、支付预付土地租赁款及改善本集团一般生产设施。

财务资源及资金流动性

于二零一二年十二月三十一日,本集团之资产净值为29.5亿港元(二零一一年:31.4亿港元),较二零一一年减少6.1%。按二零一二年十二月三十一日已发行股份的数目计算,年末每股资产净值为1.72港元(二零一一年:每股1.83港元),较二零一一年同期减少6.0%。

于二零一二年十二月三十一日,本集团现金及银行存款合共1.94亿港元(二零一一年:2.99亿港元), 较上年同期减少35.1%,其中49万港元(二零一一年:740万港元)为已抵押及只可用于指定用途之银行存款及691万港元(二零一一年:无)为受限制银行存款。本集团于二零一二年十二月三十一日的资金分布为人民币占88.2%、港元占6.3%及美元占5.5%。于本年度经营业务所产生的现金流出0.23亿港元(二零一一年:现金流入1.81亿港元)。本集团大部份日常业务之交易货币以人民币进行及本集团无主动对冲此等交易货币。

于二零一二年底本集团已无任何未偿还银行贷款,按目前本集团的现金水平及备用信贷额度,本集团将有足够的财务资源应付啤酒业务营运。

除上述提及的已抵押及只可用于指定用途之银行存款49万港元外,本集团于本年底并没有将资产抵押予任何债权人,亦没有录得任何重大的或然负债。

策略检讨结果的财务影响

承如主席报告内提及有关策略检讨结果,于二零一三年二月五日,本公司与华润雪花啤酒有限公司签订一份载有先决条件的总体协议(「总体协议」),本公司以可予调整(如有)的总代价人民币5,384,200,000元(折合约6,643,000,000港元)出售9间全资附属公司的股权及其欠本集团余下公司的若干贷款及债项。在完成总体协议的有关交易后,本集团将不再以生产、分销及销售啤酒作为主营业务,并转为主要经营房地产开发及投资业务。有关详情,请参阅财务报表附注38以及本公司于二零一三年二月五日刊发关于非常重大的出售事项公告。

于二零一二年度,本公司因策略检讨承担了约3,163万港元的费用,该等费用已列于综合损益表内的其他费用项下。由于总体协议于二零一三年签订,除上述提及的费用外,该总体协议的约定对本公司二零一二年度的财务状况无任何财务影响。

人力资源

本集团于本年底现聘用约2,835 名(二零一一年:2,864 名)员工, 本年度薪酬及公积金供款总额合共2.48 亿港元(二零一一年:2.26 亿港元)。本集团提供各样基本福利予员工,而员工的奖励政策则会参考本集团的啤酒销量与业绩及员工的个人表现。