Year 2013

During the year, the principal businesses of the Group underwent significant changes.  Upon the completion of the disposal of the 9 pervious subsidiaries in September 2013, the Group’s core business was changed from the production, distribution and sale of beer to property development and investment.  Profit for the year attributable to owners of the Company amounted to HK$3,427 million (2012: net loss of HK$168 million).

Discontinued Operations

As mentioned in the Chairman’s Statement in relation to the disposal of the equity interests in 9 previous subsidiaries by the Company during the year, on 5 February 2013, the Company entered into a master agreement with China Resources Snow Breweries Limited, pursuant to which the Company agreed to sell the entire equity interests in 9 previously wholly-owned subsidiaries and certain of their loans and debts owing to the remaining Group at a total consideration of RMB5.38 billion.  The said 9 pervious subsidiaries were principally engaged in the production, distribution and sale of beer.  The disposal of the equity interests of these subsidiaries were completed in September 2013.  Subsequent to the transactions, these subsidiaries ceased to be subsidiaries of the Company.  As a result, the financial results of these subsidiaries ceased to be consolidated into the financial statements of the Group.

The Group recorded an aggregated net gain from disposal of the 9 previous subsidiaries of HK$3,936 million during the year.  In respect of the discontinued operations, net profit for the year amounted to HK$3,400 million (2012: net loss of HK$170 million).  Detail of the results of the discontinued operation is presented in note 12 to the financial statements.

Continuing Operations

Since September 2013 and upon the completion of the transactions in relation to the disposal of the 9 previous subsidiaries, the Group engages in property development and investment.  The Group holds a few investment properties that generate rental income, as well as the Buxin Project which is under development, all of which are located in Shenzhen, Guangdong Province.

In particular, the Group is currently focusing its resources on developing the Buxin Project. It is currently intended that the Buxin Project will be divided into phases. During the year, the Group has filed the urban renewal unit planning proposal to the relevant urban renewal authorities of the Government of Shenzhen Municipality for approval, and is currently working closely with the relevant urban renewal authorities to fine tune the proposal. Once the approval on the proposal is received, the Group expects to, shortly thereafter, proceed with site clearance and demolition of the existing buildings, and thereafter, the construction of the Buxin Project. Concurrently, the Group is also undertaking various pre-construction works in preparation for the subsequent stages of the Buxin Project. Based on the Group’s internal estimation and the latest communications with the relevant government authorities on the progress regarding their review on the urban renewal unit planning proposal, the Group currently estimates that the urban renewal unit planning proposal will be finalized and the relevant approval will be received by the Group by around the end of 2014, after which, arrangements will be made for the signing of the land use right transfer agreement and payment of the land premium. As the urban renewal unit planning proposal is currently under review by the Government of Shenzhen Municipality and remains in flux, and more time than expected is required in the approval process, the Group is now working, based on the information currently available and the latest communications with the relevant governmental authorities, towards a plan which, subject to the requirements of the Government of Shenzhen Municipality, the market conditions and the available resources of the Group prevailing at the time, may involve reorganising and combining the preparation and implementation of various subsequent work stages for the Buxin Project (such as technical designing and planning, surveying, tendering and construction), so as to expedite and improve the overall planning and implementation of the project. If favourable market conditions permit, the Group will also consider commencing certain works for later phases in parallel with phase one of the Buxin Project. The Group currently anticipates that construction work for phase one of the Buxin Project will commence in the second quarter of 2015 (after completion of site clearance) and the pre-sale process will commence in around the last quarter of 2016.

For further information on the review and outlook of the Buxin Project, please refer to the Chairman’s Statements on the website.

In respect of the continuing operations, the Group did not record any consolidated revenue (2012: nil).  Net profit for the year was HK$27.09 million (2012: HK$1.42 million).

Operating Expenses and Finance Costs

In respect of the continuing operations, the Group’s administrative expenses for the year were HK$29.50 million (2012: HK$14.77 million), representing an increase of 99.7% over 2012, which was mainly attributable to the increase in the general administrative expenses and remuneration arising from the successful disposal of the 9 previous subsidiaries.

In respect of the continuing operations, the Group’s finance costs for the year amounted to HK$595 thousand (2012: nil), which was attributable to the increase in interest expenses arising from an increase in bank loan during the year. 

Taxation

In respect of the continuing operations, all remaining subsidiaries of the Group did not record income tax expenses during the year (2012: nil).

Capital Expenditure

The Group’s capital expenditure, on a cash basis, for the year was approximately HK$136 million (2012: HK$58 million), representing an increase of 134% over 2012.  Of this, capital expenditure related to the preliminary expenditures of the Buxin Project was approximately HK$6.0 million.

Financial Resources and Liquidity

As at 31 December 2013, the Group’s net asset value was HK$4.26 billion (2012: HK$2.95 billion), representing an increase of 44.4% over that of 2012. Based on the number of ordinary shares in issue as at 31 December 2013, the net asset value per share of the Group was HK$2.49 (2012: HK$1.72), an increase of 44.8% from that of 2012.

As at 31 December 2013, the Group had cash and bank balances of HK$3,104 million (2012: HK$194 million), representing an increase of 15 times over that of 31 December 2012, which was mainly attributable to the receipt of part of the proceeds from the disposal of the 9 previous subsidiaries.  Of the cash and bank balances, there was no pledged bank balances with restricted purposes (2012: HK$0.49 million) and HK$695 million (2012: HK$6.91 million) of restricted bank balances.  Of the Group’s cash and bank balances as at 31 December 2013, 99.8% was in RMB and 0.2% in HKD.  Net cash flows used in operating activities for the year were HK$4.00 million (2012: HK$22.90 million).  As most of the transactions from the Group’s daily operations were denominated in Renminbi, there will be low transaction exposure.  The Group did not perform currency hedge of the transactions actively.

As at the end of 2013, the Group did not have any outstanding bank loan. Given the Group’s existing cash balances, the Group will have sufficient financial resources to finance its existing continuing operations in the coming year.

None of the assets of the Group was pledged to any creditors and there was no material contingent liability recorded as at the end of the year.

Human Resources

The Group had 546 (2012: 2,835) employees as at the end of the year.  The change was mainly attributable to the disposal of the equity interests in the 9 previously wholly-owned subsidiaries.  The total employee remuneration and provident fund contributions (excluding directors’ remuneration) of the continuing operations for the year were HK$7.19 million (2012: HK$7.43 million).  Various basic benefits were provided to the Group’s staff with an incentive policy which was designed to remunerate staff by combined references to the Group’s operating results as well as the performance of the staff.

2013年

本年度本集团的主要经营业务发生重大变化,在2013年9月份完成出售9间前附属公司股权的交割后,本集团的主要经营业务由原来的生产、分销及销售啤酒,转型为房地产发展及投资业务。归属于本公司持有者之本年溢利34.27亿港元(2012年:净亏损1.68亿港元)。

已终止经营业务

诚如在主席报告内提及本公司于本年度出售该9 间前附属公司的情况,于2013年2月5日,本公司与华润雪花啤酒有限公司订立了一份总体协议,本公司同意以总代价人民币53.8亿元出售9 间前全资附属公司的全部股权及其欠本集团余下公司的若干贷款及债项,该9 间前附属公司的主要业务为生产、分销及销售啤酒。该等附属公司的股权已于2013年9月份交割。于交割后,该等附属公司不再是本公司的附属公司。因此,该等附属公司的财务业绩将不再综合计入本集团的财务报表内。

于本年度,本集团录得出售该等附属公司净收益合共39.36亿港元。在已终止经营业务方面,本年度净溢利为34.00亿港元(2012年:净亏损1.70亿港元)。有关已终止经营业务之业绩详列于财务报表附注12。

持续经营业务

自2013年9月起及有关出售9 间前全资附属公司的交易交割后,本集团从事房地产发展及投资业务。本集团在广东省深圳市持有少量可带来租金收入的投资物业及正在发展中的布心项目。

本集团现时集中资源发展布心项目。布心项目拟分期进行。于本年度,本集团已将城市更新单元规划方案上报深圳市政府有关部门审批及紧密配合城市更新单元规划方案审批单位,并对城市更新单元规划方案进行修订。本集团预计当接获城市更新单元规划方案审批后,短期内将会清理及拆除厂区的现有建筑物,并开始布心项目的建设工程。与此同时,本集团亦正进行各项布心项目施工前期工作,为布心项目后续会话做准备。根据本集团之内部估计及与相关政府部门就有关对城市更新单元规划方案审批进展的最新沟通情况,本集团目前估计该城市更新单元规划方案将于2014年底前敲定及获得有关批覆,本集团随后将尽快安排签署土地使用权转让协议,并支付土地出让金。由于该城市更新单元规划方案现正由深圳市政府有关部门审阅及正在修改中,预计有关审批程序较预期长。基于现有数据及与相关政府部门最近期的沟通情况,受限于深圳市政府的有关规定,市场环境及本集团当时的可动用资源,本集团正制定一个可能涉及整合布心项目各个后续会话的准备工作及落实措施(例如技术设计及规划、测量、招标及建筑工程),以加快及完善整体项目规划及推进的速度。如市场环境容许,本集团将考虑开展布心项目第一期时,同步开展若干后期工作。本集团预期布心项目第一期的建设工程将于2015年第二季动工(于清理厂区建筑物完成后)及预售程序将于约2016年第四季度展开。

有关布心项目回顾及展望的进一步资料请参阅载于本网站内的主席报告。

在持续经营业务方面,本集团本年度并无录得任何综合收入(2012年:无)。本年度净溢利2,709万港元(2012年:142万港元)。

经营费用及融资成本

在持续经营业务方面,本集团本年度管理费用为2,950万港元(2012年:1,477万港元),较2012年度增加99.7%,主要是由于成功出售该9 间前附属公司的交易增加了一般管理费用及薪酬所致。

在持续经营业务方面,本集团本年度融资成本为59.5万港元(2012年:无),因年内增加了银行贷款,导致利息支出增加。

税务

在持续经营业务方面,本集团本年度所有余下附属公司均无录得所得税支出(2012年:无)。

资本性开支

本集团于本年内以现金支付为基准的资本性开支约1.36亿港元(2012:0.58亿港元),较2012年增加134%。其中与布心项目的前期支出有关的资本性开支约600万港元。

财务资源及资金流动性

于2013年12月31日,本集团之资产净值为42.6亿港元(2012年:29.5亿港元), 较2012年增加44.4%。按2013年12月31日已发行股份的数目计算,年末每股资产净值为2.49港元(2012年:每股1.72 港元),较2012年同期增加44.8%。

于2013年12月31日,本集团现金及银行存款合共31.04亿港元(2012年:1.94亿港元),较上年同期增加15倍,主要原因是收取部份出售该9 间前附属公司款项。其中无录得已抵押及只可用于指定用途之银行存款(2012年:49 万港元)及持有6.95亿港元(2012年:691万港元)为受限制银行存款。本集团于2013年12月31日的资金分布为人民币占99.8%、港元占0.2%。于本年度经营业务所产生的现金流出400万港元(2012年: 2,290万港元)。由于本集团大部份日常业务之交易货币以人民币进行,来自交易产生的风险较低。本集团并无主动对冲此等交易货币。

于2013年底本集团已无任何未偿还银行贷款,按目前本集团的现金水平,本集团将有足够的财务资源应付目前持续经营业务来年的资金需求。

本集团于本年底并没有将资产抵押予任何债权人,亦没有录得任何重大的或然负债。

人力资源

本集团于本年底聘用约546名(2012年:2,835名)员工,有关变动主要由于出售该9 间前全资附属公司的股权所致。本年度来自持续经营业务雇员薪酬及公积金供款(不包括董事酬金)总额合共719万港元(2012年:743万港元)。本集团提供各样基本福利予员工,而员工的奖励政策则会参考本集团的经营业绩及员工的表现等因素综合厘定。