First six months of 2014

Results and Key Operating Data

Since the completion of the disposal of the entire equity interests in 9 previous subsidiaries that engaged in the production and sale of beer in September 2013, the Group has changed to focus on the businesses of property development and investment.  The Group holds certain investment properties that generate rental income, as well as the Buxin Project which is under development, all of which are located in Shenzhen.

The Group’s results for the six months ended 30 June 2014 was derived from the businesses of property development and investment, whereas the results for the corresponding period of last year was derived from the sold businesses of production, distribution and sale of beer.

In the first half of 2014, the Group recorded consolidated revenue of HK$1.61 million derived from the rental income from investment properties (2013: consolidated revenue of HK$804 million derived from the sale of beer), representing a decrease of 99.8% from the corresponding period of last year.  During the period under review, the unaudited consolidated profit of the Group was HK$71.91 million (2013: consolidated loss of HK$93.97 million).

The board of directors of the Company resolved not to declare the payment of an interim dividend for the six months ended 30 June 2014 (2013: Nil).

Business and Financial Review

In the first half of 2013, the Group recorded a consolidated loss of HK$93.97 million from the business operation of production, distribution and sale of beer, which has been discontinued since September 2013.  During the period under review, the Group did not incur loss generated from that business.

During the period under review, the Group implemented an employee quarters allocation plan as approved by local government and disposed of the staff quarters to the eligible employees who meet certain prerequisites and criteria in accordance with the required procedures and approved prices stipulated by the relevant department of the local government.  The disposal contributed a gain of approximately HK$72.06 million to the Group.  The disposal process of certain staff quarters has not completed as of 30 June 2014.

Due to the receipt of consideration for the disposal of the 9 previous subsidiaries, the Group recorded a significant increase in the consolidated cash and bank balances from the corresponding period of last year.  Bank interest income for the first half of 2014 was HK$70.38 million (2013: HK$1.15 million), representing an increase of approximately 60 times from the corresponding period of last year.  Imputed interest income arising from changes in fair value of long-term other receivables was HK$18.85 million for the first half of 2014 (2013: nil).

Almost all the fund held by the Group were denominated in Renminbi.  As a result of the fact that Renminbi suffered a slight depreciation against Hong Kong dollar during the first half of 2014, the Group recorded a foreign exchange loss in its financial statement which is presented in Hong Kong dollar.  For the six months ended 30 June 2014, the Group recorded a net foreign exchange loss of HK$36.66 million (2013: HK$0.37 million), representing a significant increase from the corresponding period of last year.

During the period under review, the Group did not record any sale and distribution expenses (2013: HK$121 million).  The Group’s administrative expenses for the first half of the year was HK$45.70 million (2013: HK$82.71 million), representing a decrease of 44.7% over the same period last year.  The decrease in administrative expenses was mainly attributable to the decrease in general administrative expenditures arising from the streamline of corporate structure after the disposal of 9 previous subsidiaries by the Group.  The Group had no bank loan during the period under review and therefore did not incur finance costs (2013: HK$1.66 million).

The Buxin Project

During the period under review, the Group worked very closely with the relevant urban renewal authorities to fine tune the urban renewal unit planning proposal, with the aim to facilitating the urban renewal authorities in its reviewing process and to thereby shortening the time needed for the official approval on the urban renewal unit planning proposal to be issued.  At the same time, the Group is carrying out the preliminary works for Buxin Project, which mainly include the preliminary planning and design of the project, arrangement and disposal of the existing plant and machinery on the land for development, and tendering for designer and consultant for the project.

With the aim of securing a higher plot ratio for development of the land and other favourable construction indices for the Buxin Project, the Group estimates that the approval procedures for the urban renewal unit planning proposal will complete in the first half of 2015, based on the information currently available and the latest communications with the relevant governmental authorities. The Group anticipates that the construction work will commence in around the second half of 2015 and the pre-sale process will commence in around 2017.  The above estimation is based on the information currently available and the Group will update the schedule of the project as appropriate in accordance with the progress of various tasks for the Buxin Project.

Capital Expenditure

The Group’s general capital expenditure, on a cash basis, for the period under review was HK$0.90 million (2013: HK$41.65 million).  In addition, preliminary expenditures related to the Buxin Project was HK$1.95 million. 

Financial Resources and Liquidity

As at 30 June 2014, the Group had cash and bank balances of HK$3.06 billion (including restricted bank balances of HK$0.19 million), almost all of which were denominated in Renminbi.  During the period under review, net cash flows from operating activities recorded was HK$6.57 million.  The Group was in a sound financial position and possessed sufficient financial resources to finance its existing operation.  As at 30 June 2014, none of the assets of the Group was pledged to any creditors and there was no material contingent liability recorded.

Human Resources

As at 30 June 2014, the Group had a total of 254 (31 December 2013: 546) employees.  Reasonable remuneration packages based on business performance, market practices and market conditions are offered to employees of the Group.  In addition, discretionary bonuses are also granted based on the results of the Group and the performance of individual employees.

2014年首6个月

经营业务及业绩

自2013年9月份完成出售从事啤酒生产及销售的9间前附属公司全部股权的交割后,本集团已转型为从事房地产发展及投资业务。本集团在深圳市持有若干可带来租金收入的投资物业及正在发展中的布心项目。

本集团截至2014年6月30日止六个月止的业绩乃来自房地产发展及投资业务。而上年同期的业绩则来自已出售的生产、分销及销售啤酒业务。

本集团2014年上半年反映投资物业租金收入的综合收入161万港元(2013年:反映啤酒销售的综合收入8.04亿港元),较上年同期减少99.8%。于回顾期内,本集团未经审核之综合溢利7,191万港元(2013年:综合亏损9,397万港元)。

本公司董事会决议不宣派截至2014年6月30日止六个月之中期股息(2013年:无)。

业务及财务回顾

本集团2013年上半年因经营生产、分销及销售啤酒业务录得综合亏损9,397万港元。该业务已自2013年9月起终止,于回顾期内,本集团无须承担来自该业务产生的亏损。

于回顾期内,本集团推行当地政府批准的房改计划及依当地政府主管部门批准并按政府规定的程序和核定的价格出售宿舍予符合政府相关规定的条件的员工。就出售员工宿舍本集团已录得约7,206万港元的收益。于2014年6月30日,尚有个别员工宿舍单位未完成出售程序。

本集团因收取了部份出售9间前附属公司的交易款项,导致综合现金及银行存款较上年同期大幅增加。2014年上半年银行利息收入7,038万港元(2013年:115万港元),较上年同期增加约60倍。2014年上半年因长期其他应收款公允值变动产生的估算利息收入1,885万港元(2013年:无)。

由于本集团持有的资金当中絶大部份为人民币,而2014年上半年人民币兑港元略为贬值,导致本集团以港元呈报的财务报表录得汇兑亏损。截至2014年6月30日止六个月,本集团录得汇兑亏损净额3,666万港元(2013年:37万港元),较上年同期大幅增加。

于回顾期内,本集团并无录得销售及分销费用(2013年:1.21亿港元)。本集团上半年管理费用为4,570万港元(2013年:8,271万港元),较上年同期减少44.7%。管理费用减少主要是因本集团出售9间前附属公司后架构精简导致减少一般管理费用所致。于回顾期内本集团并无任何银行贷款,故并无录得融资成本(2013年:166万港元)。

布心项目

于回顾期内,本集团紧密地配合城市更新单元规划方案审批单位之有关审阅程序,并对城市更新单元规划方案进行微调,以协助城市更新单元规划方案审批单位的审核流程及缩短该城市更新单元规划方案的审批时间。与此同时,本集团亦正进行各项布心项目施工前期工作,主要包括项目前期规划及设计、安排处置发展土地目前厂房及机器设备、为项目设计单位及顾问进行招标工作等。

为对布心项目土地争取较高的发展容积率及其他有利的建设指标,基于现有资料及与相关政府部门最近期的沟通情况,本集团估计城市更新单元规划方案的审批程序将于2015年上半年完成。本集团预期布心项目部份建设工程将于2015 年第下半年动工及预售程序将于约2017 年展开。上述有关估算乃基于现有资料作出,随着布心项目各项工作的推进,本集团将适时更新有关计划的时间表。

资本性开支

本回顾期内,本集团以现金支出为基准的一般资本性支出约90万港元(2013年:4,165万港元)。此外,来自布心项目的前期开支195万港元。

财务资源及资金流动性

本集团于2014年6月30日的现金及银行结余为30.6亿港元(其中包括受限制银行存款19万港元),几乎全部为人民币。本回顾期内经营业务所得现金流入净额为657万港元。本集团拥有良好的财务状况及充裕的财务资源应付目前业务。于2014年6月30日,本集团并没有将资产抵押予任何债权人及无录得任何重大的或然负债。

人力资源

于2014年6月30日,本集团共雇用254名雇员(2013年12月31日:546名)。本集团因应业务表现、市场惯例及市况向雇员提供合理之薪酬组合,同时亦会根据集团本身及个别雇员之表现而酌情发放花红。