Year 2014

The Group’s results for the year ended 31 December 2014 was derived from the businesses of property development and investment, whereas the results for the corresponding period of last year was derived from the sold businesses of production, distribution and sale of beer.

In 2014, the Group recorded consolidated revenue of HK$3.42 million derived from the rental income from investment properties (2013: nil). During the year under review, net profit from the continuing operations amounted to HK$81.77 million (2013: HK$27.09 million), representing an increase of 201.8% from the corresponding period last year. Due to the completion of the disposal of the entire equity interests in 9 previous subsidiaries, the Group recorded a net profit from discontinued operation of HK$3,400 million in 2013, whereas no such profit was recorded during the year. Under the combined effect of the above two factors, profit for the year attributable to owners of the Company amounted to HK$81.77 million (2013: HK$3,427 million), down by 97.6% from the corresponding period last year.

Operating Income, Expenses and Finance Costs


Due to the increase in average bank balances, the Group recorded bank interest income of HK$137 million during the year under review (2013: HK$29.35 million), representing an increase of 366.8% as compared to the corresponding period last year. During the year under review, a gain of approximately HK$73.38 million was recorded from the disposal of the staff quarters (2013: nil).

The Group’s administrative expenses in 2014 were HK$94.78 million (2013: HK$29.50 million), representing an increase of 221.3%, which was mainly attributable to the exclusion of administrative expenses of PRC subsidiaries from the administrative expenses of the continuing operations in last year and the inclusion of the administrative expenses generated from Shenzhen Plant 1 retained by the Group during the year. Moreover, the Group has entered into an agreement with an independent third party in relation to the disposal of the legacy beer production equipment of the Shenzhen Plant 1 during the year under review. The Group has made a provision for impairment of HK$5.8 million for the aforementioned machinery and equipment as the anticipated proceeds of disposal are expected to be lower than the carrying amount of the beer production equipment.

In respect of the completion of the transactions related to the disposal of the equity interests in 9 previous subsidiaries engaged in the production and sale of beer by the Group in 2013, the consideration of the disposal transaction is subject to adjustment as stipulated in the relevant agreements. During the year under review, the aggregate settlement amount of the consideration of the transactions is mildly downward adjusted by HK$32.58 million that results in the reduction of consideration receivable. Such reduction has been charged to the statement of profit or loss for the year. Also, the Group has made an additional provision of HK$24.55 million in accordance with the relevant compensation mechanism as stated in the master agreement of the transactions. The sum of the above two items amounted to HK$57.13 million, accounting for approximately 0.8% of the aggregated considerations of RMB5.38 billion (equivalent to approximately HK$6.73 billion) from the disposal transactions in last year.

The Group has recorded no finance cost as it did not have any bank loan for the year (2013: HK$595 thousand).

Taxation

During the year, one of a wholly-owned subsidiaries of the Group operating in the PRC has made a provision of land appreciation tax of HK$9.13 million due to the disposal of staff quarters (2013: nil).

Capital Expenditure


The Group’s capital expenditure, on a cash basis, for the year was approximately HK$1.05 million (2013: HK$136 million), representing a decrease of 99.2% over that of 2013. In addition, capital expenditure related to the Buxin Project was approximately HK$5.39 million (2013: HK$6.00 million).

Financial Resources and Liquidity


As at 31 December 2014, the Group’s net asset value was HK$4.34 billion (2013: HK$4.26 billiOFon), representing an increase of 1.9% over that of 2013. Based on the number of ordinary shares in issue as at 31 December 2014, the net asset value per share of the Group was HK$2.53 (2013: HK$2.49), an increase of 1.6% from that of 2013.

As at 31 December 2014, the Group had cash and bank balances of HK$3,832 million (2013: HK$3,104 million), representing an increase of 23.5% over that of 31 December 2013, which, restricted bank balances amounted to HK$191 thousand (2013: HK$695 million). Of the Group’s cash and bank balances as at 31 December 2014, 97.9% was in RMB and 2.1% in USD. Net cash flows used in operating activities for the year were HK$240 million (2013: HK$4.00 million).

As most of the transactions from the Group’s daily operations were denominated in Renminbi, there will be low transaction exposure. During the year under review, the Group did not perform currency hedge of the transactions actively. The consolidated financial statements of the Group are presented in Hong Kong dollars, and changes in the exchange rate of HK$ against RMB generated exchange differences upon currency translation in the book, but the said exchange differences arising from the currency translation will pose no effect on the daily operations of the Group. In 2014, the Group recorded net foreign exchange losses of HK$2.91 million (2013: net foreign exchange gains HK$26.20 million).

As at the end of 2014, the Group did not have any outstanding bank loan. Given the Group’s existing amount cash and bank balances, the Group will have sufficient financial resources to finance its existing continuing operations in the coming year.

None of the assets of the Group was pledged to any creditors and there was no material contingent liability recorded as at the end of 2014.

Human Resources


The Group had 182 (2013: 546, representing the aggregate number of employees from the head office in Hong Kong and Shenzhen Plant 1) employees as at the end of 2014. The total employee remuneration and provident fund contributions (excluding directors’ remuneration) of the continuing operations in 2014 was HK$63.38 million (2013: HK$82.40 million, representing the aggregate relevant expenditures from the head office in Hong Kong and Shenzhen Plant 1). The Group carried out a staff redundancy plan continuously during 2014 and, as a result, the total number of employees of the Group gradually dropped to 182 at the end of 2014. Various basic benefits were provided to the Group’s staff with an incentive policy which was designed to remunerate staff by combined references to the Group’s operating results as well as the performance of the individual staff member.

2014年

本集团截至2014年12月31日止年度的业绩乃来自房地产发展及投资业务。而上年同期的业绩则主要来自已出售的生产丶分销及销售啤酒业务。

本集团2014年度反映投资物业租金收入的综合收入342万港元(2013年:无)。於回顾年度,来自持续经营业务之净溢利录得8,177万港元(2013年:2,709万港元),较上年同期增加201.8%。本集团於2013年度因完成出售9间前附属公司的全部股权,来自已终止经营业务之净溢利录得34.00亿港元,本年度并无录得该项溢利。综合以上两项,归属於本公司持有者之本年溢利为8,177万港元(2013年:34.27亿港元),较上年同期下降97.6%。

经营收益、费用及融资成本


因平均银行存款馀额增加,本集团本回顾年度录得1.37亿港元银行利息收入(2013年:2,935万港元),较上年同期增加366.8%。本回顾年度因出售员工宿舍录得约7,338万港元的收益(2013年:无)。

本集团2014年度管理费用为9,478万港元(2013年:2,950万港元),较2013年度增加221.3%,主要是由於上年度计入持续经营业务的管理费用不包含所有国内附属公司产生的管理费用,而本年度管理费用包含本集团所保留的深圳一厂产生的费用。此外,本集团回顾年度与一独立第三者签订了协议,出售深圳一厂原有的啤酒生产设备,鉴於预计出售收益较该等啤酒生产设备的账面值低,本集团因此为该等机器设备作出580万港元的减值拨备。

关於本集团於2013年完成的出售经营啤酒业务的9间前附属公司的股权交易,按有关协议的规定,出售交易对价可予调整。於回顾年度,根据该等前附属公司的经审阅交割账目,交易对价结算金额合共较本集团出售对价略为调减导致应收交易对价款减少3,258万港元,有关调减金额已列支於本年度的损益账内。此外,本集团亦因应出售交易总体协议项下约定的补偿机制额外作出了2,455万港元的拨备。以上两项合计5,713万港元,约占出售交易总对价人民币53.8亿元(折合约67.3亿港元)的0.8%。

本集团2014年度并无借入任何银行贷款,故无录得任何融资成本(2013年:59.5万港元)。

税务


本集团一家在国内营运的全资附属公司於2014年度因出售员工宿舍计提了913万港元的土地增值税项支出(2013年:无)。

资本性开支


本集团於2014年内以现金支付为基准的一般资本性开支约105万港元(2013:1.36亿港元),较2013年减少99.2%。此外,与布心项目有关的前期资本性开支约539万港元(2013:600万港元)。

财务资源及资金流动性


於2014年12月31日,本集团之资产净值为43.4亿港元(2013年:42.6亿港元),较2013年增加1.9%。按2014年12月31日已发行股份的数目计算,年末每股资产净值为2.53港元(2013年:每股2.49港元),较2013年同期增加1.6%。

於2014年12月31日,本集团现金及银行存款合共38.32亿港元(2013年:31.04亿港元),较2013年12月31日增加23.5%。其中包括受限制银行存款银行存款19.1万港元(2013年:6.95亿港元)。本集团於2014年12月31日的资金分布为人民币占97.9%丶美元占2.1%。於本年度经营业务所产生的现金流出净额2.40亿港元(2013年:400万港元)。

由於本集团大部份日常业务之交易货币以人民币结算,来自交易产生的货币风险较低。於回顾年度,本集团并无主动对冲此等交易货币。本集团的综合财务报表以港元呈报,港元兑人民币的变化将会影响因货币换算产生的账面汇兑差异。本集团於2014年度录得汇兑亏损净额291万港元(2013年:汇兑收益净额2,620万港元)。

於2014年底本集团无任何未偿还银行贷款,按目前本集团的现金及银行存款水平,本集团将有足够的财务资源应付目前持续经营业务来年的资金需求。

本集团於2014年底并没有将资产抵押予任何债权人,亦没有录得任何重大的或然负债。

人力资源


本集团於2014年底聘用约182名(2013年:546名(包括深圳一厂及香港总部雇员))雇员。2014年度来自持续经营业务雇员薪酬及公积金供款(不包括董事酬金)总额合共6,338万港元(2013年:8,240万港元(包括深圳一厂及香港总部雇员有关支出))。本集团於2014年陆续进行员工安置计划,因此,本集团的员工数目逐步减少至2014年底的182人。本集团提供各样基本福利予员工,而员工的奖励政策则会参考本集团的经营业绩及员工个人表现等因素综合厘定。