First six months of 2015

Results and Key Operating Data


During the period under review, the Group was engaged in the business of property development and investment. Currently, the Group is holding a number of investment properties in Shenzhen, a property project in Buxin, Shenzhen and a residential property project in the Panyu District of Guangzhou City, both are under development.

During the period under review, the Group acquired a 100% of the equity interest in Triumphant Success Limited from GDH Limited, the controlling shareholder of the Company, at a discount on the fair value of the acquired net assets (details of which were set out in the announcement and circular of the Company dated 16 March 2015 and 2 April 2015, respectively) for a total consideration of approximately HK$510 million. The major asset of Triumphant Success Limited includes an 80% interest in the Ruyingju (如英居) residential property project in Panyu District of Guangzhou City, the PRC. As the acquisition consideration was less than the fair value of the net assets acquired, an accounting gain on bargain purchase of HK$234 million was recognised in the unaudited condensed consolidated statement of profit or loss for the six months ended 30 June 2015. For details, please refer to note 11 to the Condensed Consolidated Interim Financial Information.

In the first half of 2015, the Group recorded a consolidated revenue of HK$239,000 derived from rental income of investment properties (2014: HK$1.61 million), representing a decrease of 85.2% over the same period last year. The decrease in consolidated revenue was due to the Group’s strategy to gradually reduce its rental business over its investment properties. The investment properties situated on the land parcel of the Buxin Project, which forms part of the Buxin Project development, will be demolished together with other existing buildings, while the rest are intended to be disposed of. During the period under review, the Group’s unaudited net profit attributable to owners of the Company was HK$335 million (2014: HK$71.91 million), representing an increase of approximately 366% year-on-year.

The board of directors of the Company resolved not to declare the payment of an interim dividend for the six months ended 30 June 2015 (2014: Nil).

Business and Financial Review


In the first half of 2015, the Group’s interest income from bank deposits was HK$76.79 million (2014: HK$70.38 million), representing an increase of approximately 9.1% as compared with the same period last year. In the first half of 2015, the estimated interest income from fair value changes of other receivables amounted to HK$20.06 million (2014: HK$18.85 million), representing an increase of approximately 6.4% as compared with the same period last year.

During the 6 months ended 30 June 2015, the Group recorded a combined net foreign currency exchange gain of HK$49.00 million (2014: net foreign exchange loss of HK$ 36.66 million), representing a significant improvement as compared with the same period last year. The increase of net foreign currency exchange gain during the period under review was mainly due to the settlement of certain loans denominated in RMB by the Company and its subsidiary, together with a slight appreciation of the RMB against the HK dollar at the end of June 2015, which resulted in exchange gains.

During the period under review, the Group recorded selling and distribution expenses of HK$1.07 million (2014: Nil). The Group’s administrative expenses for the first half of the year was HK$36.01 million (2014: HK$ 45.70 million), representing a decrease of 21.2% as compared with the same period last year. The decrease in administrative expenses was mainly attributable to the progressive implementation of staff redundancy plan in 2014. The decrease in the number of employees in the first half of 2015 as compared with the same period last year, resulted in the decrease of wage costs and related expenditures.

During the period under review, 廣州市番禺粤海房地產有限公司 (Guangzhou Panyu Yuehai Real Estate Company Limited), a newly acquired subsidiary of the Company, has borrowed bank loans. As the interest for the bank loans of HK$3.02 million was fully capitalized, the Group recorded no finance costs. For the same period last year, the Group did not have any borrowing from banks, and, therefore recorded no finance costs.

During the first half of 2014, the Group implemented an employee quarters allocation plan as approved by the local government, and sold staff quarters to eligible employees who met certain prerequisites and criteria in accordance with procedures and approved prices stipulated by the relevant authority of the local government. The sale of staff quarters contributed a gain of approximately HK$72.06 million to the Group in the first half of 2014. During the period under review, the Group did not record any gain generated from the sale of staff quarters.

The Buxin Project


The Buxin Project is located at Buxin Area, Luohu District, Shenzhen, the PRC. The total site area is about 87,075 square meters. The Buxin Project is an industrial commercial complex with jewellery as the main theme and will be constructed in two phases. During the period under review, the Group has revised the urban renewal unit planning proposal, which had been submitted to the Shenzhen Municipal Government for review and approval in May 2015. The Group anticipates that review and approval process of the proposal will be completed in the second half of 2015.

The Group has commenced preparatory promotion works such as preliminary market research and visits the potential customers in accordance with the market positioning of the Buxin Project, and has received warm response and support from potential customers. Based on current information and recent communication with the relevant government authorities, it is estimated that infrastructure works, including demolish of the old buildings, for phase one (which takes up a majority of the area available for development) will commence in the fourth quarter of 2015. Pre-sale and rental processes are expected to kick off in 2017. The Group will update the schedule of the project from time to time as appropriate according to the progress of the Buxin Project.

The Ruyingju Project


The Ruyingju Project is located in South of Sanzhi Xiangshui Road, Dongxiang Village, Dashi Town, Panyu District, Guangzhou, the PRC. The total site area is approximately 38,771 square meters, and the total aggregate gross floor area is approximately 127,597 square meters, with approximately 917 residential units and 651 car-parking spaces available for sale. The Ruyingju Project is located in the Panyu District of Guangzhou with mature transportation network and beautiful environment. On 30 June 2015, all the main structural constructions of the Ruyingju Project had been completed. Decoration works of all the residential units are currently in progress, which is expected to be completed by the end of October 2015.

Some of the residential units of the Ruyingju Project were put up for pre-sale since May 2015. As at 30 June 2015, approximately 195 units were successfully sold during the pre-sale. The aggregate floor area of the units sold during the pre-sale was approximately 20,201 square meters, representing approximately 21.5% of the total saleable floor area of the residential units. The average pre-sale price was RMB18,215 (equivalent to approximately HK$23,047) per square meter. Response to the pre-sale was satisfactory, and it is estimated that the project will bring certain revenue and profit to the Group within the year upon delivery of the completed properties.

Capital Expenditure


The Group’s general capital expenditure, on a cash basis, for the period under review was approximately HK$1.86 million (2014: HK$0.90 million). In addition, the capital expenditures related to the Buxin Project and the Ruyingju Project (from the date of completion of the acquisition up to 30 June 2015) were approximately HK$11.9 million and HK$39.8 million, respectively.

Financial Resources and Liquidity


As at 30 June 2015, the Group’s cash and bank balances was HK$3,590 million (which included restricted bank balances of HK$265 million), almost all of which were denominated in Renminbi. As the Group intends to use Renminbi to invest in the PRC in the future, the fund available denominated in Renminbi remove the currency exchange rate risk. During the period under review, net cash outflow from operating activities was HK$39.66 million. The Group is in a sound financial position and possesses sufficient financial resources to finance its short-term business development. The Group will review its funding needs according to progress of business development from time to time, so as to ensure that adequate financial resources will be available to support business development.

As at 30 June 2015, the Group’s total bank loan balances denominated in RMB was HK$269 million, with partial properties of the Ruyingju Project as collaterals. The repayment dates of these bank loans lie in one to two years. As at 30 June 2015, the unutilised banking facilities denominated in RMB available to the Group were approximately HK$200 million. As at 30 June 2015, the Group did not record any material contingent liabilities.

Human Resources


As at 30 June 2015, the Group had a total of 238 employees (31 December 2014: 182). Reasonable remuneration packages with reference to business performance, market practices and market conditions were offered to employees of the Group. In addition, discretionary bonuses were also granted based on the performance of the Group and that of the individual employee.

Outlook


With the medium-to-high growth rate of the PRC economy, the rising living standards of its people, and the greater need for real estate properties to cope with urbanization development, the Group firmly believes that the trend will continue to provide impetus to the growth of property development in the Mainland China, including real estate development.

Apart from developing the current Buxin Project and Ruyingju Project, the Group will also consider and identify other property development and investment opportunities in the PRC, mainly in Guangdong Province and other first-tier cities in the Mainland China.

Last but not least, the Company’s Board of directors recognises the efforts made by the management and staff during the period under review. Under the leadership of the Board, the Company successfully acquired the Ruyingju Project during the period under review, which improved the quality of the Group’s assets and diversified its operational risks. The Group is confident in the prospects of its future business development, and will proactively drive the development of real estate business with the objective to create a better return for its shareholders.

2015年首6个月

经营业务及业绩


于本回顾期内,本集团从事房地产发展及投资业务。本集团目前在深​​圳市持有若干投资物业及正在发展中的布心房地产项目及广州市番禺区一个住宅物业项目。

于本回顾期内,本集团以总代价约5.10亿港元,基于净资产公允值以折让价向本公司控股股东粤海控股集团有限公司收购了胜旺有限公司100% 股本权益(详情请参阅本公司分别于2015 年3 月16 日及2015 年4 月2 日刊发的公告及通函)。胜旺有限公司的主要资产是持有位于国内广州市番禺区的如英居住宅项目80% 权益。由于收购代价较所收购的净资产公允值少,因此账面上产生了廉价收购收益2.34亿港元,该收益已列于截至2015 年6月30日止六个月之未经审核简明综合损益表,详情请参阅简明综合中期财务资料附注11。

2015年上半年本集团来自投资物业租金收入的综合收入239,​​000港元(2014年:161万港元),较上年同期减少85.2%。综合收入减少的原因是本集团策略性逐步减少出租该等投资物业。其中位于布心项目地块上的投资物业属布心项目发展的一部份,该等投资物业将连同其他现有建筑物一起清拆,其余投资物业拟将安排出售。于本回顾期内,归属于本公司持有者之未经审核净溢利3.35亿港元(2014年:7,191万港元),较上年同期增加约366%。

本公司董事会决议不宣派截至2015年6月30日止六个月之中期股息(2014年:无)。

业务及财务回顾


于2015年上半年,本集团的银行利息收入为7,679万港元(2014年:7,038万港元),较上年同期增加约9.1%。于2015年上半年,因其他应收款公允值变动产生的估算利息收入为2,006万港元(2014年:1,885万港元),较上年同期增加约6.4%。

截至2015年6月30日止六个月,本集团录得合并汇兑收益净额4,900万港元(2014年:汇兑亏损净额3,666万港元),较上年同期大幅增加。汇兑收益净额增加的主要原因是于本回顾期内,本公司与其附属公司结算了若​​干人民币贷款,以及人民币兑港元汇率于2015 年6 月底略为升值(与2014年底比较),产生了汇兑收益。

于本回顾期内,本集团录得销售及分销费用107万港元(2014年:无)。本集团上半年管理费用为3,601万港元(2014年:4,570万港元),较上年同期减少21.2%。管理费用减少主要是由于2014年内步进行员工安置计划,2015年上半年员工数目少于上年同期数目,工资成本及相关费用因而有所下降。

于本回顾期内,本公司新收购的附属公司(广州市番禺粤海房地产有限公司)向银行借入银行贷款,有关银行贷款利息302万港元已全部作资本化处理,故本集团无录得融资成本。于上年同期,本集团因无借入银行贷款,故并无录得融资成本。

于2014年上半年,本集团推行当地政府批准的房改计划及依当地政府主管部门批准并按政府规定的程序和核定的价格出售宿舍予符合政府相关规定的条件的员工。本集团于2014年上半年就出售员工宿舍录得约7,206万港元的收益。于本回顾期内本集团并无录得任何有关出售员工宿舍的收益。

布心项目


布心项目位于中国深圳罗湖区布心片区,占地总面积约87,075平方米。布心项目是以珠宝为主题的产业商贸综合体,并将划分为两期建造。于本回顾期内,本集团对城市更新单元规划方案进行了修订,并已于2015年5月份将城市更新单元规划方案修订版重新送交深圳市政府审批。本集团预期有关城市更新单元规划方案可于2015年下半年完成审批。

本集团已根据布心项目的市场定位展开前期市场调研及走访潜在客户等招商筹备工作,并获得潜在客户对布心项目良好的反应及支持。基于现有资料及与相关政府部门最近期的沟通情况,初步估计占项目大部份可发展面积的第一期基础建设工程(含旧建筑拆除)预计将于2015 年第四季动工,预售及租赁程序预计将于约2017 年展开。随着布心项目各项工作的推进,本集团将适时更新有关计划的时间表。

如英居项目


如英居项目位于中国广州番禺区大石镇东乡村三支香水道南侧。如英居项目总地盘面积约38,771平方米,总建筑面积约127,597平方米,拥有约917个住宅单位及651个车位可供出售。如英居项目位于广州市番禺区,交通方便,环境优美。于2015年6月30日,如英居项目主体工程已全部完成,目前所有住宅单位正进行装修工程,预期将于2015年10月底峻工。

如英居项目的部份住宅单位由今年5月底起开始预售。截至2015年6月30日,约有195个住宅单位已成功预售,已预售单位面积合共约20,201平方米,占整体住宅可售面积约21.5%,平均预售价每平方米约为人民币18,215元(相等于约23,047港元)。预售反应理想,预计该项目于本年内交付已峻工的物业后可为本集团带来若干收入及利润。

资本性开支


于本回顾期内,本集团以现金支出为基准的一般资本性支出约186万港元(2014年:90万港元)。此外,来自布心项目及如英居项目(由收购交割日至2015年6月30日止)的资本开支分别约为1,190万港元及3,980万港元。

财务资源及资金流动性


本集团于2015年6月30日的现金及银行结余为35.9亿港元(其中包括受限制银行存款2.65亿港元),几乎全部为人民币资金。由于本集团未来拟以人民币在国内进行投资,目前持有人民币资金可消除货币汇兑风险。本回顾期内,经营业务所得现金流出净额为3,966万港元。本集团拥有良好的财务状况及充裕的财务资源足以应付短期的业务发展需要。本集团会因应未来的业务发展情况不时检讨资金需求,确保有足够的财务资源支持业务发展。

于2015年6月30日,本集团已借入人民币银行贷款余额折合2.69亿港元,该等银行贷款以部份如英居物业作为抵押品,还款期介乎1至2年。于2015年6月30日,本集团可动用银行人民币备用信贷额度折合约2亿港元。于2015年6月30日,本集团并无录得任何重大的或然负债。

人力资源


于2015年6月30日,本集团合共雇用238名雇员(2014年12月31日:182名)。本集团因应业务表现、市场惯例及市况向雇员提供合理之薪酬组合,同时亦会根据集团本身及个别雇员之表现而酌情发放花红。

展望


随着中国经济继续以中高速度发展、人民生活水准的提高及配合城市化发展导致对物业更大的需求,本集团深信,这趋势将继续推动国内物业发展的增长,包括房地产的发展。

除发展现有布心项目及如英居项目外,本集团亦会考虑及研究国内其他房地产发展及投资的机遇,主要考虑投资在广东省及其他国内一线城市。

最后,本公司董事会肯定管理层及员工于回顾期内为本集团作出的努力,在董事会的领导下,本公司于本回顾期内成功收购了如英居项目,提高了本集团的资产质素及分散了营运风险,本集团对未来的业务发展前景充满信心,并将积极推进房地产业务发展,一如既往继续致力为股东创造更大的回报。