Year 2015

The Group’s results for the year ended 31 December 2015 were mainly derived from its business in property development and investment.

According to the information of the National Bureau of Statistics of China, the preliminary figure of the national GDP for 2015 has a year-on-year increase of 6.9%, and the disposable income per capita increased by 8.9% as compared to that of last year. This, coupled with the changes to the fiscal and monetary policies in the PRC, including the adjustment to the tax holiday for business tax on personal housing transfer as well as the continuous downward adjustment to the long-term benchmark lending rate by the People’s Bank of China, contributable to a remarkable increase in the property prices in first-tier cities of the PRC in 2015. According to the price index of newly built residential properties in 70 large to mid-sized cities in December 2015, the residential price index of Guangzhou City had an annual increase by approximately 9.1%, and that of Shenzhen City by approximately 46.8%.

The consolidated revenue of the Group for 2015 amounted to HK$858 million (2014: HK$3.42 million). Consolidated revenue for the year under review was mainly derived from the sales income generated by the Ruyingju Project. All the investment properties, ceased to be leased in the second half of 2015. Those investment properties situated in the site of the Buxin Project will form part of the development of the Buxin Project. The rest of the investment properties is considered to be disposed of gradually. During the year under review, the Group’s net profit attributable to the owners of the Company was HK$175 million (2014: HK$81.77 million), representing an increase of approximately 113.7% from the same period last year.

In 2015, the Group acquired a 100% equity interest in Triumphant Success Limited and its subsidiaries from GDH Limited, a controlling shareholder of the Company, at a consideration of approximately HK$510 million, based on the fair value of its net asset with a discount (for further details, please refer to the announcement and the circular published by the Company dated 16 March 2015 and 2 April 2015, respectively). The main asset held by Triumphant Success Limited is a 80% interest in the Ruyingju Project located in Panyu District, Guangzhou, the PRC. As the acquisition consideration was less than the fair value of the net asset acquired, a gain on bargain purchase of HK$234 million was recognised in the audited consolidated statement of profit or loss for the year ended 31 December 2015. For further details, please refer to Note 10 to this announcement. Moreover, the Group incurred transaction costs in relation to the acquisition in the amount of approximately HK$3.54 million. Apart from the aforementioned acquisition, the Company did not make any other significant investments during the year under review.

The Group recorded an aggregated amount of net exchange losses and release of exchange reserve upon settlement of inter-company balance of HK$166 million during the year under review (2014: HK$2.91 million), which is mainly attributable to the depreciation of RMB against HKD in the second half of 2015. As at 31 December 2015, almost all cash and bank balances of the Group were denominated in RMB. The RMB balance is planned to be used mainly for investing in the Buxin Project, in Shenzhen, the PRC. Therefore, from an operational perspective, the Group currently holds RMB for its future business investment in the PRC could minimise the related currency exchange risks. However, the abovementioned exchange difference is created during the currency revaluation in preparation of the Group’s consolidated financial statements that use HKD as the reporting currency.

Key Financial Ratios


 

Note

2015

2014

Change

Profit for the year

attributable to owners of the
Company, in the thousand HK$

 

174,773

81,773

+113.7%

Return on equity, %

1

4.0%

1.9%

+110.5%

Net assets, in million HK$

 

4.610

4,338

+6.3%


Note:
1. Return on equity = net profit attributable to the owners of the Company/average equity attributable to the owners of the Company

During the year under review, a gain on bargain purchase of HK$234 million was recorded, mainly due to the Company’s acquisition of the 80% interest in the Ruyingju Project located in Panyu District, Guangzhou from its controlling shareholder, resulting in the Group’s net profit attributable to the owners of the Company amounting to HK$175 million, representing an increase of approximately 113.7% as compared to the same period last year. Return on equity increased by 110.5% over the same period last year. Total net asset increased by 6.3% from 31 December 2014. All the three key financial ratios recorded year-on-year increases.

The Buxin Project


The Buxin Project, in which the Group holds a 100% interest, is an industrial and commercial complex with jewellery as the main theme. In November 2015, the urban renewal unit planning proposal related to the Buxin Project was approved for a site development area of approximately 67,903 square meters and the total gross floor area is approximately 436,100 square meters, with the plot ratio of approximately 6.4 times. An additional 30,000 square meters of underground area was granted for commercial purpose. Currently, the Group is designing properties of different usages and types in accordance with the land use approval and reply, including industrial and commercial usages, research development, business apartment and other auxiliary service facilities.

The Group is negotiating with the Municipal Government of Shenzhen for the details and amount of the land premium pursuant to the approved Buxin Project urban renewal unit proposal. Meanwhile, taking into consideration of the market positioning of the Buxin Project, preparatory works such as preliminary market research and visits from potential customers are underway, we received good responses and supports from the potential customers for the Buxin Project. As various aspects of the work in the Buxin Project make progress, the Group will update its development schedule accordingly.

As at 31 December 2015, the Buxin Project incurred preliminary costs and fees for development in the amount of approximately HK$97.28 million in aggregate (2014: HK$25.15 million), representing a net increase of HK$72.13 million in 2015.

The Ruyingju Project


The Ruyingju Project, in which the Group holds a 80% interest, has 917 residential units and 651 parking spaces for sale, with certain residential units in pre-sale since the end of May 2015. For the year ended 31 December 2015, sale contracts for 534 residential units in aggregate were entered under the Ruyingju Project, with an aggregate floor area sold of approximately 55,000 square meters, representing approximately 58.5% of the total saleable area for residential units.

The properties in the Ruyingju Project were completed in November 2015 and 382 of the residential units were delivered to the customers and revenue was recognised during the year under review. The area of the delivered units was approximately 39,000 square meters, representing approximately 41.7% of the total saleable area of the residential units.

In 2015, the Group has recognised a gain on bargain purchase of HK$234 million from the acquisition of the Ruyingju Project. Most of the gain from the Ruyingju Project was captured in such a gain on bargain purchase. Since the acquisition price paid was determined with reference to the then market value (but at a discount) of the Ruyingju Project, the carrying value the Ruyingju properties consists of its development costs and the fair value increases as of the completion date of acquisition. With satisfactory sales, the Ruyingju Project continues to see an improvement in its average selling price. It is expected that most of the remaining residential units in the Ruyingju Project will be sold in 2016 and the average selling price (in RMB) will be higher than that in 2015 because of the expected increase in the general improvement in property prices and the better quality and location of the remaining residential units. The actual number of properties that could be delivered depends on the timing and process of the sales. It is expected that the majority of the residential units to be sold will be delivered to the customers in 2016.

Operating Income, Expenses and Finance Costs


During the year under review, the Group’s bank interest income was HK$136 million (2014: HK$137 million), representing a decrease of 0.7% as compared with the same period last year. During the year under review, the imputed interest income from fair value changes of other receivables amounted to HK$36.65 million (2014: HK$38.24 million), representing a decrease of 4.2% as compared with the same period last year. Such income will no longer be incurred in 2016 from the other receivables currently held by the Group. An aggregated gain on disposal of property, plant and equipment and assets held for sale during the year under review was HK$36.45 million in total (2014: HK$73.38 million).

In 2015, the Group’s selling and distribution expenses were HK$10.14 million (2014: nil) associated with the sale of the Ruyingju residential properties. The Group’s administrative expenses in 2015 was HK$69.46 million (2014: HK$94.78 million), representing a decrease of 26.7% as compared to that in 2014. The decrease in administrative expenses was mainly attributable to the decrease in wages and related expenditures resulting from the progressive implementation of staff redundancy plan in 2014.

In respect of the completion of the transactions related to the disposal of the equity interests in nine previous subsidiaries engaged in production and sale of beer by the Group in 2013, the Group made an additional net provision of HK$18.34 million during the year under review.

During the year under review, 廣州市番禺粤海房地產有限公司 (Guangzhou Panyu Yuehai Real Estate Company Limited), a newly acquired subsidiary of the Company holding the Ruyingyu Project, has obtained bank loans. As the interest of the bank loans of HK$7.73 million accrued from the date of the acquisition has been fully capitalised, the Group recorded no finance costs during the year. For the same period last year, the Group did not have any borrowing from banks, and, therefore recorded no finance costs.

Capital Expenditure


The Group’s general capital expenditure paid in 2015 was approximately HK$4.31 million (2014: HK$1.05 million), representing an increase of 310.5% than that in 2014.

Financial Resources and Liquidity


As at 31 December 2015, the equity attributable to owners of the Company was HK$4.43 billion (2014: HK$4.34 billion), representing an increase of 2.1% over that in 2014. Based on the number of ordinary shares in issue as at 31 December 2015, the net asset value per share of the Company at the end of the year was HK$2.59 (2014: HK$2.53 per share), representing an increase of 2.4% over that in 2014.

As at 31 December 2015, the Group had cash and bank balances of HK$3.68 billion (2014: HK$3.83 billion), representing a decrease of 3.9% year-on-year. The aforementioned amount included restricted bank balances of HK$470 million (2014: HK$0.19 million) principally associated with an amount received from the sales but yet delivery of the Ruyingju Project. Of the Group’s cash and bank balances as at 31 December 2015, 99.8% was in RMB, 0.1% was in HK$ and 0.1% in USD. Net cash flows generated from operating activities for the year were HK$520 million (2014: net cash flows used in operating activities of HK$240 million).

As most of the transactions from the Group’s PRC daily operations are denominated in Renminbi, currency exposure from these transactions is low. During the year under review, the Group did not perform currency hedge of the transactions. The consolidated financial statements of the Group are presented in Hong Kong dollars, and changes in exchange rate of HK$ against RMB generated exchange differences upon currency revaluation. With the development of the Buxin Project of the Group located in Shenzhen, the PRC, capital injection to the Buxin Project will be made by the Group as and when appropriate. The impact of exchange difference arising on changes in exchange rate of HK$ against RMB on the consolidated statement of profit or loss of the Group will be diminishing.

As at 31 December 2015, the Group did not have any outstanding bank loan. Given the Group’s existing cash and bank balances, the Group will have sufficient financial resources to finance its existing continuing operations in the coming year. The Group will review its funding needs according to progress of business development from time to time so as to ensure that adequate financial resources will be available to support its business development.

None of the assets of the Group was pledged to any creditors. Except for the disclosure in Note 11 of this announcement regarding the guarantee made in relation to the mortgage of the sold property of approximately HK$536 million (2014: nil) and undertakings made in the master sales agreement relating to the disposal of brewery subsidiaries, there was no material contingent liability recorded as at the end of 2015.

Risks and Uncertainties


Given that the Group is engaged in property development and investment in Mainland China, risks and uncertainties of its business are principally associated with property market and property prices in Mainland China, and the Group’s revenue in the future will be directly affected by such risks and uncertainties. Property market in Mainland China is affected by a number of factors which include economic conditions, property supply and demand, fiscal and monetary policies and taxation policies of the government. The gross domestic product (GDP) of Mainland China has maintained a year-on-year growth though the growth rate has been slowed down gradually. Currently, the property projects of the Group are all located in tier-1 cities with different categories and usage, effectively diversifying operational risks.

The Buxin Project in Shenzhen has relatively prolonged development period, and the Company may seek external fund to partially finance its development. As such, the financing channels and financing costs will be subject to the prevailing market conditions and the Group’s financial position. As at 31 December 2015, the Group did not have any outstanding interest-bearing loan.

As property sector has a relatively long product development cycle, the Group’s future profit and cash flow will be highly volatile.

Policy and Performance on Environmental Protection


The Group has strictly observed rules and regulations promulgated by the government, including the regulations on environmental protection, social and governance. During the year under review, the business activities of the Group in Mainland China were engaged principally in property construction and demolition. Regarding the completed construction of the Ruyingju properties during the year under review, the Group has obtained the approval of completion and acceptance from the Environmental Protection Bureau of Panyu, Guangzhou. For the demolition works of the land lots of the Buxin Project, demolition sites have strictly observed the laws and regulations of the relevant regions in Mainland China, including but not limited to environmental protection, sewage treatment and noise control. The Group has also commissioned green experts to preserve trees and other vegetation for the purpose of environmental protection.

In furtherance of on-going fine-tuning the policies on environmental protection, social and governance, the Group has established communication with stakeholders, such as employees, customers, business partners, investors and governmental authorities, by conducting surveys, group discussions and interviews, allowing the Group to identify important topics for the Group to envisage the changes in operational environment, and consequently achieving the goals of sustainable development and proper risk management.

Human Resources


The Group had 297 (2014: 182) employees as at the end of 2015. The total employee remuneration and provident fund contributions (excluding directors’ remuneration) of the continuing operations in 2015 was HK$55.92 million (2014: HK$63.38 million). Various basic benefits were provided to the Group’s staff with an incentive policy which was designed to remunerate staff by combined references to the Group’s operating results as well as the performance of the individual staff member.

2015年

本集团截至2015年12月31日止年度的业绩主要来自房地产发展及投资业务。

根据中国国家统计局的资料,2015年度国内生产总值初步统计数字按年增幅约6.9%,国内居民人均可支配收入较去年增长8.9%。加上中国的财政及货币政策变动,其中包括调整个人 住房转让营业税的免征期及人民银行持续调低长期贷款基准利率,导致2015年度中国一线城市的楼价录得一定的升幅。根据2015年12月份70个大中城市新建住宅价格指数,广州市住宅 价格指数年度增幅约9.1%,深圳市住宅价格指数年度增幅约46.8%。

本集团2015年度综合收入8.58亿港元(2014年:342万港元)。本回顾年度综合收入主要来自如英居住宅项目录得的销售收入。2015年下半年起已停止出租所有投资物业, 位於布心项目地块上的投资物业将归属布心项目发展的一部份,其馀投资物业拟将安排逐步出售。於本回顾年度,本集团录得归属於本公司持有者之净溢利1.75 亿港元(2014 年:8,177 万港元),较上年同期增加约113.7%。

於2015年,本集团以总代价约5.10 亿港元,基於净资产公允值以折让价向本公司控股股东粤海控股集团有限公司收购了胜旺有限公司及其附属公司100% 股本权益(详情请参阅本公司分别於2015年3月16日及2015年4月2日刊发的公告及通函)。胜旺有限公司的主要资产是持有位於中国广州市番禺区的如英居项目80%权益。 由於收购代价较收购的净资产公允值少,因此账面上产生了廉价收购收益2.34亿港元,并已列於截至2015 年12 月31 日止年度之经审核综合损益表,详情请参阅本公告附注10。 此外,本集团同时录得与该项收购有关的交易成本约354万港元。除上述收购外,本公司於本回顾年度内并无其他重大收购事项。

本集团於本回顾年度内录得汇兑亏损净额及与附属公司结算往来款释放的外汇储备合共1.66亿港元(2014 年:291万港元),主要由於2015年下半年人民币兑港元贬值所致。 於2015 年12 月31 日,本集团几乎全部现金及银行结馀均为人民币。该等人民币馀额当中的大部分将计划用作投资於本集团位於中国深圳的布心项目。因此,从营运角度考虑, 本集团现时持有人民币作为未来中国业务用途将可减少相关的货币滙兑风险,但由於本集团的报表呈报货币为港元,本集团在编制其综合财务报表处理货币重估过程中产生了前述之汇兑差异。

关键财务指标


 

2015年

2014年

变化

归属於本公司

持有者净溢利,千港元

 

174,773

81,773

+113.7%

股本回报率,%  

1

4.0%

1.9%

+110.5%

资产净值,亿港元  

 

46.10

43.38

+6.3%


注:
1. 股本回报率 = 归属於本公司持有者净溢利/归属於本公司持有者之平均权益

於本回顾年度,本公司主要因向控股股东收购了位於广州市番禺区的如英居项目80% 权益而录得廉价收购收益2.34 亿港元,导致本集团归属於本公司持有者之净溢利1.75 亿港元,较上年同期增加约113.7%。股本回报率较上年同期增加110.5%,总资产净值较2014年12月31日增加6.3%。三项关键财务指标全部均录得按年增幅。

布心项目


本集团持有100% 权益的布心项目是以珠宝为主题的产业商贸综合体。於2015年11月,布心项目的有关城市更新单元规划方案已获得审批,开发建设用地面积约67,903平方米,计容积率建筑面积约436,100平方米,容积率约6.4倍;另可在地下开发30,000平方米的商业用房。目前,本集团正在按有关用地批覆为布心项目设计不同用途及类型的物业,其中包括工商业丶产业研发丶商务公寓等有关配套服务设施。

本集团现正根据已获审批的布心项目城市更新单元规划方案与深圳市政府有关部门磋商补地价细节及金额,与此同时因应布心项目的市场定位展开前期市场调研及走访潜在客户等招商筹备工作,并获得潜在客户对布心项目良好的反应及支持。随着布心项目各项工作的推进,本集团将适时更新有关计划的时间表。

於2015年12月31日,布心项目累计前期发展成本及费用约9,728万港元(2014年:2,515万元),2015年度增加净额7,213万港元。

如英居项目


本集团持有80% 权益的如英居项目拥有917个住宅单位及651个车位可供出售,部份住宅单位自2015年5月底起开始预售,截至2015年12月31日止年度,如英居项目合共有534个住宅单位已签订销售合同,出售面积约5.5万平方米,占总住宅单位可售面积约58.5%。

如英居物业已於2015 年11月峻工,并於本回顾年度内将其中382个住宅单位交付予客户及有关收入已列账,已交楼单位面积约3.9万平方米,占总住宅单位可售面积约41.7%。

於2015年,本集团因收购如英居项目录得廉价收购收益2.34亿港元。该项目产生的收益已反映在廉价收购收益内。由於已支付该项目的收购代价参考了如英居项目的市场价值(但按折让价),如英居物业的账面值或销售成本包括发展成本及收购交割日的公允值增值。如英居的销售情况理想,平均销售单价持续改善,预计2016年度拟将如英居物业馀下的大部份住宅出售及按人民币计价的平均销售单价预期将高於2015年度的平均销售单价,因预计一般物业价格改善及未出售物业的质素及位置较佳。实际交楼数量视乎销售时间及流程,预计2016年度可将大部份已出售的住宅单位移交客户。

经营收益丶费用及融资成本


於本回顾年度,本集团录得1.36亿港元银行利息收入(2014年:1.37亿港元),较上年同期减少0.7%。於本回顾年度,因其他应收款公允值变动产生的估算利息收入为3,665万港元(2014年:3,824万港元),较上年同期减少4.2%,2016年本集团将不会因目前持有的其他应收款继续录得此项估算利息收入。本回顾年度因出售物业丶厂房及设备和待出售物业合共录得约3,645万港元的收益(2014年:7,338万港元)。

本集团2015年度销售及分销费用1,014 万港元(2014年:无),此乃与出售如英居住宅物业相关的费用。本集团2015年度管理费用为6,946万港元(2014年:9,478万港元),较2014年度减少26.7%,管理费用减少主要是由於2014年度逐步进行员工安置计划,因此本年度工资成本及相关费用因而有所下降。

关於本集团於2013年完成的出售经营啤酒业务的九间前附属公司的股权交易,本集团於本回顾年度内因该出售交易额外作出约1,834万港元的拨备净额。

於本回顾年度内,本公司新收购持有如英居项目的附属公司(广州市番禺粤海房地产有限公司)曾向银行借入银行贷款,自收购日起计,有关银行贷款利息773万港元已全部作资本化处理,故本集团於本年度并无录得融资成本。於上年同期,本集团因无借入任何银行贷款,故并无录得融资成本。

资本性开支


本集团於2015年度支付的一般资本性开支约431万港元(2014:105万港元),较2014年增加310.5%。

财务资源及资金流动性


於2015年12月31日,归属於本公司持有者之账面值为44.3亿港元(2014年:43.4亿港元),较2014年增加2.1%。按2015年12月31日已发行股份的数目计算,年末每股资产净值为2.59港元(2014年:每股2.53港元),较2014年同期增加2.4%。

於2015年12月31日,本集团现金及银行存款合共36.8亿港元(2014年:38.3亿港元),按年减少 3.9%。上述金额包括受限制银行存款4.70亿港元(2014年:19.1万港元),主要为已收出售如英居物业但仍未交楼的款项。本集团於2015年12月31日的资金分布为人民币占99.8%丶港元占0.1%丶美元占0.1%。於本年度经营业务所产生的现金流入净额5.20亿港元(2014年:经营业务现金流出净额2.40亿港元)。

由於本集团大部份在中国的日常业务之交易货币以人民币结算,来自交易产生的货币风险较低。於回顾年度,本集团并无主动对冲此等交易货币。本集团的综合财务报表以港元呈报,港元兑人民币的变化将会影响因货币重估产生的账面汇兑差异。除着本集团位於中国深圳布心项目的发展,本集团将适当将资金注入布心项目,预计未来因港元兑人民币的汇率变化产生的汇兑差异对本集团综合损益表的影响将逐步减少。

本集团於2015年12月31日无任何未偿还银行贷款,按目前本集团的现金及银行存款水平,本集团将有足够的财务资源应付目前持续经营业务来年的资金需求。本集团会因应未来的业务发展情况不时检讨资金需求,确保有足够的财务资源支持业务发展。

本集团於2015年底并没有将资产抵押予任何债权人。除本公告附注11列出於2015年底因出售物业楼宇按揭贷款提供约5.36亿港元(2014年:无)及因按出售啤酒附属公司总体协议作出的承诺外,於2015年底没有录得任何其他重大的或然负债。

风险及不确定因素


由於本集团在中国大陆从事房地产发展及投资业务,故主要业务风险及不确定因素为中国大陆的房地产市场及楼价,因该项因素直接影响本集团未来的收益。中国大陆房地产市场受多项因素影响,其中包括经济情况丶物业供求情况丶政府的财政及货币政策丶税务政策等因素。虽然中国大陆的国民生产总值增幅持续放缓,但仍录得一定的按年增幅。目前本集团持有的物业项目均位於一线城市,且项目涉及不同类型及用途的物业,能有效地分散营运风险。

本集团位於深圳的布心项目发展期较长,而且本公司可能需要为其部份发展资金对外融资。据此,融资方式及融资成本将受限於当时的市场环境及本集团的财务状况。於2015年12月31日,本集团并无任何未偿还带息贷款。

由於物业发展行业的产品周期较长,本集团未来盈利及现金流量的波动性将较高。

环保政策及表现


本集团严格遵守政府制定的法规,包括有关环保丶社会及管治的法规。於本回顾年度内,本集团在中国大陆的业务主要涉及物业建造及清拆工作。在物业建筑方面,於本回顾年度落成的如英居物业,已顺利获得广州市番禺区环境保护局签发的建设项目竣工环境保护验收批覆。布心项目地块清拆工作方面,施工现场严格遵守中国大陆相关地区的有关法例法规,包括但不限於环境保护丶污水处理丶环境噪音管制等,并委托专业绿化公司对地盘附近的树木迁移,为环境保护作出贡献。

为持续改善本集团在环境丶社会及管治议题上的政策,本集团主动与利益相关方进行沟通,透过问卷调研,多人小组讨论及访谈等方式与员工丶客户丶合作夥伴丶投资者和政府机构等作沟通,协助本集团识别重要的议题,使集团能预视运营环境的变化,以达致可持续发展及妥善管理风险的目标。

人力资源


本集团於2015年底聘用约297名(2014年:182名)雇员。2015年度来自持续经营业务雇员薪酬及公积金供款(不包括董事酬金)总额合共5,592万港元(2014年:6,338万港元)。本集团提供各样基本福利予员工,而员工的奖励政策则会参考本集团的经营业绩及员工个人表现等因素综合厘定。