Chairman's Statement

Following a strong rebound in the global economy in 2021, the pandemic situation overseas is still severe and complex. Due to the new threat from COVID-19 variants, along with the aggravating effects of inflation, debts and income inequality, the recovery of emerging markets and developing economies might be jeopardised, and global growth has apparently entered into a period of slowdown. In 2021, the People's Republic of China (the "PRC" or "Mainland China") entered into a post-pandemic era of Coronavirus Disease 2019 ("COVID-19 pandemic") and faced various challenges such as complicated and grim international situations and the domestic spread of the pandemic. The PRC has adhered to the general principle of prudent development, coordinated scientifically the pandemic prevention and control as well as economic and social development, strengthened the cross-cyclical adjustment of macro policies, enhanced support on real economy, thus the development of national economy has continued to recover. In 2021, the aggregate gross domestic product ("GDP") of the PRC exceeded RMB110 trillion, up by 8.1% as compared to the previous year, which was a 10-year record high. China's contribution to the world's economic growth was expected to reach approximately 25%, with its economic growth ranking among the best in the world's major economies. The PRC's GDP per capita amounted to RMB81,000, with per capita disposable income of residents increasing by 9.1% in nominal terms as compared to the previous year.
 
In 2021, under the policies that "housing is for living in, not for speculation" and "property policies should be city-specific", the PRC government regulated the national real estate market comprehensively and accurately. The real estate industry has undergone a series of policy changes and upgrades from indepth regulation to stability maintenance, ensuring that the goals of stabilising land prices, housing prices, and market expectations will be realised. In the first half of the year, after the Ministry of Housing and Urban Rural Development of the PRC and the People's Bank of China set up the "three red lines" for property developers (i.e. liability-to-asset ratio (excluding receipt in advance) shall not exceed 70%; net gearing ratio shall not exceed 100%; and cash to short-term debt ratio shall not be less than 1), "Real Estate Loan Centralised Management", "Two Concentration of Land Supply" (implemented for the first time in 22 key cities; referring to the centralised issuance of sales announcements and the centralized organisation of sales activities), "Real Estate Tax Reform Pilot" (referring to the announcement "Decision on Authorising the State Council to Implement Real Estate Tax Reform Pilot Work in Some Areas (Draft)"), and other policies were launched to restrain both supply and demand from various aspects. In the second half of the year, the policy direction gradually shifted to moderate adjustment to the credit and strived to ensure the stable development of the real estate market by shortening the lending cycle, lowering interest rates, and reasonably issuing development loans. According to the data throughout 2021, the total investment in real estate development across Mainland China amounted to approximately RMB14.76 trillion, representing a growth of 4.4% as compared to the previous year; the gross floor area ("GFA") of commodity housing sold were approximately 1,794 million square metres ("sq. m."), representing a growth of 1.9% as compared to the previous year; and the sales revenue of commodity housing sold were RMB18.19 trillion, representing a growth of 4.8% as compared to the previous year. Under the multiple control mechanisms, the real estate market in the Guangdong-Hong Kong-Macao Greater Bay Area (the "Greater Bay Area") has gradually returned to rationality and has become generally stable. In 2021, the average price of commodity housing in nine major cities of Guangdong increased by 14% year-on-year. In particular, the average selling price of commodity housing in Foshan, Shenzhen, Zhongshan, Dongguan and Guangzhou grew by more than 10%, while the average selling prices in cities such as Zhuhai, Huizhou and Jiangmen also saw steady increases.
 

Results

During the year under review, the Group was engaged in property development and investment businesses. The Group currently holds a number of property development projects and certain investment properties in Guangdong Province and the Greater Bay Area.
 
In 2021, the Group recorded a revenue of approximately HK$6,006 million (2020: HK$4,000 million), representing an increase of approximately 50.1% from the previous year. The Group recorded a profit attributable to owners of the Company for the year under review of approximately HK$1,402 million (2020: HK$1,682 million), representing a decrease of approximately 16.6% from the previous year. For the year under review, profit attributable to owners of the Company before taking into account of the net fair value gains on investment properties and the relevant deferred tax expense was approximately HK$1,098 million (2020: HK$210 million).
 
During the year under review, the increase in revenue was mainly attributable to the increased GFA of properties sold as compared to the previous year. For details of the Groups property sales in 2021, please refer to the section headed "Business Review" in the Management Discussion and Analysis. Apart from the profit from property sales, the decrease in profit attributable to owners of the Company for the year under review was mainly attributable to the fact that the investment properties on the Southern Land of the Shenzhen GDH City Project were measured and carried at fair value for the first time last year. The aggregated fair value gains on investment properties contributed approximately HK$1,472 million to the Group's profit after tax for last year, and it amounted to approximately HK$304 million for the year under review, representing a significant decrease from that of 2020.
 
The Board recommends the payment of a final dividend of HK10.00 cents per share for the year ended 31 December 2021 (2020: HK1.53 cents). If approved by the shareholders of the Company at the forthcoming annual general meeting, the said final dividend will be paid on or about 21 July 2022.
 

Business Review

The Group conducted its business as planned in 2021 and achieved satisfactory results.
 
The Group actively took effective countermeasures to speed up the destocking process, so as to quickly respond to the huge impacts on the real estate market caused by the COVID-19 pandemic. Through extensive contacts, cooperation and exchanges with project-related industries and business resources, the Group actively innovated and adjusted the operation methods of various businesses, implemented flexible operation strategies, expanded business channels, optimised customer structure, and actively broadened sources of income and reduced expenditure. It also implemented lean management, systematically carried out full-cycle, full-chain, closed-loop total cost control, and continuously optimised the project's product portfolio, thereby accentuating its competitive advantages. In 2021, the first phase of property sales of the Shenzhen GDH City project contributed approximately 60,553 sq. m. of the aggregate GFA of properties contracted for sale, representing approximately 52.8% of the GFA available for sale. On the basis of the cooperation between Luohu Government of Shenzhen and the Shanghai Diamond Exchange ("SDE"), the Group entered into a property leasing services agreement with 廣東粤海天河城(集團)股份有限公司 (GDH Teem (Holdings) Limited) ("GDH Teem"), a fellow subsidiary of the Company. Pursuant to the agreement, GDH Teem shall grant the Group the right to use the name of "天河城" for the shopping mall under the Shenzhen GDH City Project and shall provide high-quality tenant procurement services. Its Guangzhou Laurel House Project, Ruyingju Project and Baohuaxuan Project in Guangzhou have completed the delivery of all residential units, and the occupancy rate of the commercial property "GD•Delin (粤海‧得鄰)" in the Guangzhou Laurel House Project has reached 91.8% in 2021. Its Chenyuan Road Project, Jiangmen Ganhua Project, Zhuhai Jinwan Project, Zhongshan GDH City Project, and Foshan Laurel House Project have all officially commenced pre-sale during the year, with the total GFA contracted (including completed properties held for sale and properties held for sale under development) amounting to approximately 157,000 sq. m. in total. The superstructure of the properties of the Huizhou Dayawan Project was under construction. It is expected to commence pre-sale in the second quarter of 2022 and complete the filing for completion of construction in 2023.
 
In 2021, the Group succeeded in the bid for the land use right of a parcel of land at the Baiyun New Town, Baiyun District, Guangzhou City at the reserve price through the public Listing-for-Sale process, with an aggregate site area of approximately 116,471 sq. m. and a total GFA of approximately 506,000 sq. m. With the significant advantage of this parcel of land in terms of its location, environment, accessibility to transport network and the development of industries nearby, it has promising market prospects and is conducive to realising the Group's regional development strategies in the Greater Bay Area. Through a scientific and effective diversified collaborative expansion model, the Group continued to expand its quality land bank and control land costs in an effective manner, thereby satisfying the Grou's future development needs.
 
In 2021, the Group established a project co-investment mechanism that focuses on both compliance and incentives, the project development cycle of which is in line with that of leading companies. In 2021, the Zhongshan GDH City Project, Foshan Laurel House Project, and Guangzhou Yungang City Project have implemented project co-investment to the employees; the completion rate of the first and second phases of the three projects has reached 100%. The Group, via cost optimisation, can effectively control the costs, the investment and operational risks, thereby effectively incentivising the project teams and accelerating the projects' development.
 

Outlook

In 2022, the global economy will face myriads of downside risks, including the resurgence of the pandemic caused by the rapid spread of the mutated COVID strain, Omicron, soaring inflation expectations, financial pressure from high debt levels, etc. Meanwhile, China's economic development is facing shrinking demand, supply shock, and weakening expectations. Under the global COVID-19 pandemic and the downward economic pressure, the PRC government executed comprehensive pandemic control measures and adhered to the principle of focusing on stability while seeking progress. The macro policies need to be stable and effective; the micro policies need to continue to stimulate the market; the structural policies need to focus on smoothing the national circular economy and keep the economy going in a reasonable manner. The World Bank predicts that China's economy will grow by 5% in 2022. In the face of a complex and trying economic environment, China's long-run fundamentals remain positive. The favourable conditions for building a new development landscape remain unchanged, with new economic growth points continuing to emerge.
 
At the Central Economic Work Conference of the PRC government held in December 2021, the position that “housing is for living in, not for speculation” was reiterated. The PRC government will strengthen the guidance of expectations, explore new development models, facilitate both property rental and purchase, and accelerate the development of the long-term rental market. Moreover, it will promote the construction of affordable housing, support the commodity housing market to better meet the reasonable housing demands, and implement city-specific policies to foster a virtuous circle and healthy development of the real estate industry. The real estate industry will still play a stabilising role in China's economic development. Going forward, it is expected that the PRC government will continue to maintain the consistency and stability of its overall policies on the real estate market. Generally, the sound fundamentals of China's economy in the long run coupled with steady property development and investment will continue to facilitate the steady and healthy development of China's residential and commercial property sectors. The real estate industry will no longer rely on the quantity-driven development that focuses on "high leverage and high turnover"; instead, it will continue to innovate business models and put more emphasis on product quality, so as to better meet the buyers' reasonable demands.
 
With the full implementation of the development strategies in the Greater Bay Area, it has maintained a good momentum in economic growth and becomes the most attractive city cluster in China. The 14th Five-Year Plan strengthens the linkage between Guangzhou and Shenzhen and facilitates the integrated development of industries and transportation on the east and west sides of the Pearl River Estuary, with the aim of building the Greater Bay Area into a world-class bay area, which will offer a solid foundation for the development of the real estate industry. The development of the land market in 2022 is expected to remain stable, with the overall market popularity continuing to be at a low level. The land auction rules ay continue to be optimised, and the city differentiations will be further highlighted. With the loosening of credit and the policies of maintaining stability, the demand in the Greater Bay Area remains resilient. The market is expected to recover in 2022, with the transaction volume rising slightly, which is conducive to the healthy development of the real estate industry in the Greater Bay Area.
 
The Group's projects such as the Shenzhen GDH City, Guangzhou Yungang City, Guangzhou Laurel House, Zhuhai Jinwan, Jiangmen Chenyuan Road, Jiangmen Ganhua, Huizhou Dayawan, Foshan Laurel House and Zhongshan GDH City are all located in the core cities of the Greater Bay Area and will benefit from the strong development momentum of the area.
 
The Group will continue to seek progress while maintaining stability, make every effort to complete the construction, sales and operation of the existing projects, and leverage its status as a provincial state-owned enterprise and the resource advantages of its shareholders to seize business opportunities and innovate project development models. Through high-quality project mergers and acquisitions, cultivation of redevelopment projects, and strategic cooperation projects, the Group will continue to seek exceptional development opportunities in the Greater Bay Area. It will also continue to promote lean management, position itself strategically as "the influential, comprehensive development expert in the Greater Bay Area", adhere to the spirit of ingenuity, and continuously create mid-to-high-end products that meet the needs of the markets and customers, so as to further strengthen the Company's management in real estate development and operation, boost the brand awareness and reputation, and enhance the Company's competitiveness in the industry under the management-driven era.
 
Last but not least, on behalf of the Board, I would like to acknowledge the contribution by management and staff over the previous year. Under the leadership of the Board, the Group is confident in the prospect of its business development and will actively promote the development of its property business in order to create greater returns for its shareholders as we did in the past.

 

LAN Runing
Chairman

Hong Kong, 30 March 2022

主席报告

全球经济继2021年强劲反弹之后,境外疫情形势仍严峻复杂,由于新冠病毒变异株造成新的威胁,再加上通货膨胀、债务和收入不平等加剧,可能危及新兴市场和发展中经济体的复苏,全球增长正进入一个明显放缓的时期。于2021年,中华人民共和国(「中国」或「中国内地」)进入2019冠状病毒病(「新冠疫情」)后疫情时代,面对复杂严峻的国际环境和国内疫情散发等多重考验,坚持稳中求进工作总基调,科学统筹疫情防控和经济社会发展,加强宏观政策跨周期调节,加大实体经济支援力度,国民经济持续恢复发展。2021年中国国内生产总值(「GDP」)总量突破人民币110万亿元,较上年度增长8.1%,创下近10年来的新高,对世界经济增长的贡献率预计将达到25%左右,经济增速在全球主要经济体中名列前茅;人均GDP达人民币8.1万元,国内居民人均可支配收入较上年度名义增长9.1%
 
于2021年,在「房住不炒、因城施策」的政策大环境下,中国政府全面精准把控全国房地产市场,房地产行业经历了从深度调控到维稳的一系列政策转变升级,确保稳地价、稳房价、稳预期目标落到实处。上半年,继中国住房城乡建设部及中国人民银行设置的「三道红线」(指房企剔除预收款后的资产负债率不得大于70%;房企的净负债率不得大于100%;房企的「现金短债比」不得小于1)之后,「房地产贷款集中度管理」、重点22城首次落地「土地供应两集中」(指集中发布出让公告、集中组织出让活动)、「房地产税改革试点」(指《关于授权国务院在部分地区开展房地产税改革试点工作的决定(草案)》公布)等政策的出台,从多方面约束供需两端;进入下半年,政策逐渐转为适度调节信贷端,通过缩短放贷周期、降低利率、合理发放开发贷款,力保房地产市场平稳发展。从2021年全年数据来看,中国内地房地产开发投资约人民币14.76万亿元,较上年度增长4.4%,商品房销售总楼面面积(「总楼面面积」)约17.94亿平方米(「平方米」),较上年度增长1.9%,商品房销售金额人民币18.19万亿元,较上年度增长4.8%。在多重调控机制下,粤港澳大湾区(「大湾区」)房地产市场逐渐回归理性,总体平稳。2021年,广东九大城市商品房均价同比上涨14%;其中,佛山、深圳、中山、东莞、广州等城市的成交均价涨幅超过10%,珠海、惠州、江门等城市的成交均价走势均平稳上涨。

业绩

于本回顾年度,本集团从事房地产发展及投资业务。本集团目前在中国广东省及大湾区持有多个房地产发展项目及若干投资物业。
 
于2021年,本集团录得收入约60.06亿港元(2020年:40.00亿港元),较上年度增加约50.1%。本集团于本回顾年度录得归属于本公司持有者溢利约14.02亿港元(2020年:16.82亿港元),较上年度减少约16.6%。于本回顾年度,未计入投资物业公允值收益净额及相关递延税项支出前的归属于本公司持有者溢利约10.98亿港元(2020年:2.10亿港元)。
 
于本回顾年度,收入增加主要为物业销售总楼面面积较上年同期多,有关本集团2021年物业销售详情请参阅管理层之讨论及分析「业务回顾」一节。于本回顾年度,除来自物业销售录得利润外,归属于本公司持有者溢利减少主要因上年度本集团旗下深圳粤海城项目南部土地投资物业首次以公允值计量及列账,本集团投资物业公允值收益对本集团的除税后溢利贡献合共约14.72亿港元,而本回顾年度则共约3.04亿港元,较2020年大幅减少。
 
董事会现建议派发截至2021年12月31日止年度之末期股息每股10.00港仙(2020年:1.53港仙),如获本公司股东于应届股东周年大会上通过,将于2022年7月21日前后派发。

业务回顾

本集团2021年的业务按计划推行,并取得理想成绩。
 
本集团积极采取有效应对措施,因盘施策,加快去化,快速应对新冠疫情给房地产市场带来较大的冲击,通过与项目相关产业、商业资源的广泛接洽、合作交流,积极创新调整各业态的运营方式,灵活实施运营策略,创新招商渠道,优化客户结构,积极开源节流,实施精细化管理,系统开展全周期、全链条、闭环式的全面费用管控,持续优化项目产品组合,突显项目竞争优势。于2021年,深圳粤海城项目首期物业销售,已签约总楼面面樍合共约60,553平方米,占可供出售总楼面面积约52.8%;在深圳市罗湖区政府及上海钻石交易所(「钻交所」)合作的基础上,与广东粤海天河城(集团)股份有限公司(「粤海天河城」)(本公司的同系附属公司)订立物业招商服务合同,粤海天河城向本集团授予深圳粤海城项目购物中心冠名为「天河城」之权利,并提供优质的物业招商服务。旗下广州拾桂府项目、如英居项目及宝华轩项目已完成所有住宅单位的交付,广州拾桂府项目的商业物业「粤海•得邻」2021年的出租率更是达到了91.8%。旗下陈垣路项目、江门甘化项目、珠海金湾项目、中山粤海城项目、佛山拾桂府项目,都已于年内正式开始预售,物业签约(包括已竣工持有待售物业及发展中持有待售物业)合共录得约15.7万平方米。旗下惠州大亚湾项目发展物业均在进行主体结构施工,预期亦将于2022年二季度展开预售,于2023年完成竣工备案。
 
于2021年,本集团透过公开挂牌竞买程序,以底价成功竞得广州市白云区白云新城地块的土地使用权,总占地面积约为116,471平方米,计容总楼面面积约506,000平方米,该地块位置、环境、交通和产业资源优势明显,市场前景良好,本次收购有利于实现本集团立足于大湾区的区域发展战略。本集团通过科学有效的多元化协同拓展模式,持续增加优质土地储备,有效控制土地成本,满足本集团未来开发所需。
 
本集团于2021年建立项目跟投机制,约束与激励并举,项目开发周期向标杆企业看齐。2021年中山粤海城、佛山拾桂府、广州云港城三个项目实施了员工项目跟投落地,三个项目工程一二级计划节点达成率均达到100%,通过成本优化有效控制成本,进一步控制本集团投资及经营风险,有效激励项目团队、提高项目开发速度。

展望


2022年,全球经济面临诸多下行风险,包括变异新冠病毒奥密克戎毒株快速蔓延导致新冠疫情再次反弹、通胀预期飙升以及高债务水平带来的金融压力等,中国经济发展也面临需求收缩、供给冲击、预期转弱三重压力。面对新冠疫情全球风波及经济的下行压力,中国政府开展全面疫情管控措施,坚持「稳字当头、稳中求进」的基调,宏观政策要稳健有效、微观政策要持续激发市场主体活力、结构政策要着力畅通国民经济回圈,保持经济运行在合理区间。世界银行预测,2022年中国经济将增长5%。面临复杂严峻的经济环境,中国经济长期向好的基本面没有变,构建新发展格局的有利条件没有变,新的经济增长点将不断涌现。
 
2021年12月份中国政府召开经济工作会议,坚持房子是用来住的、不是用来炒的定位,加强预期引导,探索新的发展模式,坚持租购并举,加快发展长租房市场,推进保障性住房建设,支援商品房市场更好满足购房者的合理住房需求,因城施策促进房地产业良性回圈和健康发展。房地产行业仍将在中国经济发展方面发挥稳定器的作用,预期未来中国政府对房地产市场的调控政策总体将继续保持连续性和稳定性。总体而言,中国经济发展长期向好的基本面未变,房地产开发投资保持平稳态势,将继续推动国内住宅地产和商业地产行业的平稳健康发展,告别依赖「高杠杆、高周转」的增量时代,不断创新业务模式,更加注重产品品质,更好地满足购房客户的合理需求。
 
随着大湾区发展战略的全面实施,大湾区经济保持良好增长势头,是中国最具人口吸引力城市群,十四五规划强化广深双城联动,促进珠江口东西两岸产业、交通等要素融合发展,未来将打造为国际一流湾区,为房地产业发展奠定良好基本面。预计2022年土地市场发展仍是以稳为主,整体市场热度也将延续低位运行,土拍规则或将继续优化,城市分化进一步凸显;信贷放松,政策维稳基调下,大湾区需求韧性较强,预计2022年市场底部修复,成交量小幅上行,助力大湾区房地产业健康良性发展。
 
本集团所持有的深圳粤海城、广州云港城、广州拾桂府、珠海金湾、江门陈垣路、江门甘化、惠州大亚湾、佛山拾桂府、中山粤海城等项目均位于大湾区核心城市,将受益于大湾区的良好发展态势。
 
本集团将继续坚持稳中求进的主基调,全力做好存量项目的建设、销售及运营,充分发挥省属国企背景和股东资源优势,把握市场时机,积极创新项目拓展模式,通过优质项目并购、旧改项目孵化、战略合作项目等,继续寻求大湾区优质项目发展机会。本集团持续推进精益化管理,将围绕「大湾区具有影响力的综合开发专家」战略定位,秉承匠心精神,继续打造符合市场及客户需求的中高端精品,进一步强化公司房地产开发运营管控能力,进一步提升粤海的品牌知名度和品牌美誉度,提升公司在行业「管理红利」时代的竞争力。
 
最后,本人谨代表董事会肯定管理层及员工于过去一年为本集团作出的努力。在董事会的领导下,本集团对未来的业务发展前景充满信心,并将积极推进房地产业务发展,一如既往继续致力为股东创造更大的回报。
 

主席
蓝汝宁

香港,2022年3月30日